User, Deleting a
When to Delete a User
Diet Power 4.4 can set up and handle files for as many as four users (more if you've bought a special license¾see Diet Power, Other Editions of.) Since only one user's files can be open at any moment, however, the program will run just as fast with four users as with one. Deleting users offers only two advantages:
It frees up space on
your hard drive. A typical user accumulates about 200 kilobytes of personal
files for each month of use. (The figure can be a lot higher if the user
writes voluminous calendar notes.)
If four users are already enrolled, deleting one of them will open a slot for a new user.
Who Can Delete Whom
The first person to register as a user on your copy of Diet Power (by filling out the Personal Information Form) is User No. 1¾the Master User. He or she is the only user who can delete other users' records. The Master User cannot delete his or her own records, however, except by going outside Diet Power and following a special Windows procedure. (See "To delete the Master User," below.)
What Happens to a Deleted User
All of that user's personal records will be erased from your hard drive, and the user will no longer be able to log onto Diet Power except as a new user. In that case, Diet Power won't remember any of the user's previous records¾with one exception: any foods, recipes, or exercises that the user added to the dictionaries will still be there, since all dictionary entries automatically become the property of all users. (Some dictionary entries can be deleted, but only from within a dictionary window or the Recipe Box. See Food Dictionary, Deleting Foods from; Exercise Dictionary, Deleting Exercises From; and Recipe Box, Deleting Recipes From.)
Once you delete a user, his or her records cannot be restored, except with special tools like the "unerase" functions in DOS or Norton Utilities¾and then only if the records haven't yet been overwritten by some other program.
If you delete all users, Diet Power will be restored to its condition when first installed on your hard drive. That is, the first person to use the program will become User No. 1¾the Master User.
Before deleting a user, you might want to make a Travel Bag backup of the user's records for possible restoration later. See Travel Bag, Using the.
To delete a user:
the Home Screen, open the User Menu (by clicking the word User)
and click "Delete User." (You won't be able to do this unless
you're the Master User.) The Delete a User dialog will appear, showing
a list of all current users except the Master User. (As explained above,
the Master User cannot be deleted from within Diet Power.)
Highlight the name of
the user you want to delete, by clicking it.
Click the button labeled
"Delete this user!" Diet Power will ask you to confirm your
decision before carrying it out. If you're sure, click Yes.
When you're finished, click Close. Diet Power will take you back to the Home Screen.
To delete the Master User:
(Note: Since the Master User is the only one who can delete other users from within Diet Power, after you delete him or her, you won't be able to delete other users except by following the same Windows procedure described below.)
Save these instructions
by clicking the Print button in this Help window, so you'll have them
after closing Diet Power.
Diet Power in the usual manner, by clicking its X
button or double-clicking its Control
Menu icon¾or by choosing "Exit"
from the User Menu.
your Windows desktop, open My Computer.
Navigate to the Master User's personal subfolder. (To locate it, see Personal Records, Your.)
Highlight the Master
User's personal subfolder, by clicking it.
Press the Delete key. Before carrying out your decision,
Windows will ask you to confirm it. If you're certain, click Yes.
Close My Computer. You
are now free to restart Diet Power.
Got a Suggestion for This Page?